NOTE: You can sign up for the state exam any time. Just be sure you leave enough time to complete our training course AND allow at least a week or so to study the exam prep workbook that is included in your prelicense training purchase.
Tell me about the state exam
Before you can sit for the State Exam you need a Certificate of Completion from our school for the courses required by your license (see licensing). On the day of the exam, you need to bring proper identification. The State Exam is computer-based (sample). There are 75 questions for the Life Only License; 75 for Accident & Health and 150 for Property & Casualty.
You must score 60% or better to pass. If you fail, you can retake the exam 3 consecutive times for a fee of $50 each ($88 at a private testing center). Your 4th try requires a 30 day waiting period. Use our Exam Prep Workbook to avoid this kind of problem. It is included with your course.
NOTE: When you schedule your exam, be sure to choose the LIFE, ACCIDENT & HEALTH COMBO EXAM (if you are going for the life & health license)…or the PROPERTY & CASUALTY BROKER COMBO EXAM (if you are going for both the property broker and casualty broker license). The combo exam allows you to take both exams on the same day (highly recommended).
What is the State's Application process?
After you pass the State Exam, you the apply for your insurance license. The state has an online application process called FLASH. A brief description is below. You can go to our State Exam page to get the application or schedule your state exam.
In California, you can apply for your insurance license and schedule a date to take your state exam online. It’s called Flash Online Application Service. Here is a brief description of the process.
- You will need internet access, a credit card, email address and printer to apply for your license.
- Go to the FLASH application
- You will be asked to type in your name, address, type of license you want, a little history of your work experience and other licensing and background questions.
- You will be asked if you have completed your prelicense training. If you haven’t finished our prelicense course answer NO. (You can start our course at anytime, but you must finish our prelicensing course before taking the State Exam).
- You will go to a payment area to pay fees (See fees below)
- You will be prompted to save and print your application. You will also receive and print a checklist of what to do next.
What are the current fees for obtaining an insurance license in California?
License: $188 (2-year term)
Examination: $50 per exam at a State location. Add $38 for a private PSI location.
Fingerprint Processing: $60-$70.
What are the fees after licensing?
License Renewal Fee: Currently $188 every 2-years per license. NOTE: Life and Accident and health is considered one license. Property & Casualty is considered one license.
Do I have to be sponsored by a company or agent before taking the State Exam?
No sponsorship or approval is needed. However, you cannot transact any insurance business unless you have an “appointment” (approval and agreement) with an approved life or casualty carrier (insurance company).
Can I take the State Exam online?
No. You need to personally take the State Exam at an approved DOI testing site.
What if I fail the State Exam?
Don’t think like that! But, if you do fail you can re-take it 3 times in a row at a cost of $50 each time. You have to wait 30 days for the 4th try.
I had a license in another State, do I have to take California prelicense training?
It depends. If your state required you to complete a 40-hour prelicensing course you may be exempt, but you may need to take the 12 hours code and ethics. Contact the DOI for a final answer.
What reasons would the state deny my license application?
Always check with the state if you feel you have something in your past that could be cause for a denial and know that you can present information to help your case. The following state codes may provide some important information.